A2I: Affective Artificial Intelligence (ICPR 2024)

3 minutes

Full-day, Dec 2024, Kolkata

Introduction #

The workshop on Affective Artificial Intelligence (A2I) at ICPR 2024 aims to encourage and highlight state-of-the-art research in affective computing and applications. The key focuses are on novel neural network architectures, incorporating anatomical insights and constraints, introducing new and challenging datasets, and exploiting multi-modal training.

Call for Contributions #

Full Workshop Papers #

The workshop topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Large-scale data generation or Inexpensive annotation for Affective Computing
  • AI methods for Affective Computing with multimodal data
  • Multi-modal method for emotion recognition
  • Explainable and/or Privacy Preserving AI in affective computing
  • Generative and responsible personalization of affective phenomena estimators with few-shot learning
  • Bias in affective computing data (e.g. lack of multi-cultural datasets)
  • Semi-/weak-/un-/self- supervised learning methods, domain adaptation methods, and other novel methods for Affective Computing
  • Applications in education, entertainment & healthcare

We will be accepting the submission of full unpublished and original papers. These papers will be peer-reviewed via a single-blind process. The accepted papers in the workshops will be published in Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), Springer (https://www.springer.com/gp/computer-science/lncs). Please note that it will be published after the workshop.

Submission #

We invite authors to submit unpublished papers (15 pages including references ICPR format) to our workshop, to be presented at an oral/poster session upon acceptance. All submissions will go through a single-blind review process. All contributions must be submitted (along with supplementary materials, if any) at the Microsoft CMT.

Note #

Authors of previously rejected main conference submissions are also welcome to submit their work to our workshop. When doing so, you must submit the previous reviewers’ comments (named as previous_reviews.pdf) and a letter of changes (named as letter_of_changes.pdf) as part of your supplementary materials to clearly demonstrate the changes made to address the comments made by previous reviewers.

Important Dates #

Paper Submission DeadlineAugust 15, 2024 (11:55 pm Anywhere on Earth)
Notification to AuthorsSeptember 10, 2024 (11:55 pm Anywhere on Earth)
Camera-Ready DeadlineSeptember 20, 2024 (11:55 pm Anywhere on Earth)

Workshop Schedule #


Invited Keynote Speakers #

Prof. Dinesh Manocha
University of Maryland
Biography: Dinesh Manocha is a Distinguished University Professor at the University of Maryland and Paul Chrisman Iribe Professor of Computer Science and Electrical and Computer Engineering. He is also the Phi Delta Theta/Matthew Mason Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Computer Science at Chapel Hill University of North Carolina. Mancha’s research focuses on AI, robotics, computer graphics, augmented/virtual reality, and scientific computing, and has published more than 730 papers (H-index 135). He has supervised 46 PhD dissertations, and his group has won 21 best paper awards at leading conferences. His group has developed many widely used software systems (with 500K+ downloads) and licensed them to more than 60 commercial vendors. He is an inventor of 16 patents, several of which have been licensed to industry. A Fellow of AAAI, AAAS, ACM, IEEE and Sloan Foundation, Manocha is a ACM SIGGRAPH Academy Class member and Bézier Award recipient from Solid Modeling Association. He received the Distinguished Alumni Award from IIT Delhi and the Distinguished Career in Computer Science Award from Washington Academy of Sciences. He was also the co-founder of Impulsonic, a developer of physics-based audio simulation technologies, which Valve Inc. acquired in November 2016. He is also a co-founder of Inception Robotics, Inc.

Organizers #

Sanjay Ghosh
IIT Kharagpur
Shreya Ghosh
Curtin University
Abhinav Dhall
Flinders University
Tom Gedeon
Curtin University

Program Committee (To be updated) #

Neeru Dubey
KTH Sweden
Parul Gupta
Monash University
Prashant Patil
IIT Guwahati
Shruti Shantiling Phutke
Griffith University
Yue Yao
Curtin University

Registration #

Workshop registration will be handled by ICPR-2024 main conference committee. Please follow ICPR-2024 website for related information.

Contact #

Please contact us if you have any questions.
Email: sanjay.ghosh@ee.iitkgp.ac.in, shreya.ghosh@curtin.edu.au, abhinav.dhall@flinders.edu.au

Image Source: Medium